OBF Public Board Meeting to take place March 16, 2018 at 15:00 UTC

The OBF Board of Directors holds a public meeting about once a year, in accordance with our bylaws. The next such meeting will take place on March 16, 2018, at 15:00 UTC (11am EDT / 8am PDT / 16:00 CET). The meeting agenda can be found at https://www.open-bio.org/wiki/Minutes:2018_Mar_ConfCall.

At this public Board meeting, we will consider two new candidates running for Board seats: Bastian Greshake Tzovaras and Yo Yehudi. Both are known for their promotional and organizational involvement in open science, open data and open source bioinformatics.

Bastian has been active in the larger field of Open Science since 2010, when he helped to run a successful petition for the German legislative to overhaul their Open Access policies. He is the co-founder of openSNP and currently serves as the Director of Research at Open Humans. He mentors open science projects as part of the Mozilla Science Lab mentorship programs. Bastian recently earned a PhD in bioinformatics from the University of Frankfurt. He is on the BOSC organizing committee.

Yo works on software and community outreach for Intermine at the University of Cambridge. and is a passionate advocate of open* in research. She runs a project called Code is Science, dedicated to increasing the number of publications about scientific software that include Open Source code. Yo tweets about open science and open bioinformatics (for example, at BOSC 2017). She hopes to apply her scientific communication and outreach skills to help the OBF grow and deepen its community impact.

During the March 16 public Board meeting, the two candidates will introduce themselves, and the current board members will vote via secret (though verifiable) electronic ballots. Additionally, the minutes from the previous BoD meeting and the financial reports for previous years will be presented and approved.

All members of OBF are invited to join us for this meeting. Membership in OBF is free and open to anyone who is interested in and aligned with the objectives of the organization. If you would like to apply for membership, please visit https://www.open-bio.org/wiki/Membership.

Meeting time: March 16, 2018, 11.00am EDT (15:00 UTC, 16:00 CET, 8.00am PDT). Note that at the time of the meeting, the US will have switched already to DST, whereas Europe will not, so the time zone difference is an hour less than it would normally be.
Dial-in Information: +1-857-216-2939
PIN: 62534
http://www.uberconference.com/hlapp

This entry was posted in Board, Community, OBF and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *